top of page

The evenfall of the childhood


by Gabija Savickaite ( Summer 2017 )

That particular time of the day was incredibly hot. It appeared to me that the sun is taming the sky – you could not see it because of that intense shining and heat.

Not bothered by the heat I was so happy running around with my cousin whilst the water was spraying all around us of some old water guns that we have found in a garage. No words could’ve explained the happiness we’ve both felt when these orangey toy guns appeared in our hands. Just that an unexplainable childish joy.

We were seven years old then – life was simple and fun. No mysteries or problems surrounded our own worlds.

All of a sudden, catching his breath after a jog following by the spurt of water, my cousin said excitedly.

“These flowers will be so pretty for the wedding!” he pointed to a yellow bunch of flowers planted beneath the kitchen window.

“You want to have a wedding game now? Oh, come on!” I was never into weddings or any celebrations. Dressing up for me meant no football and definitely no muddy cupcakes.

Although I loved picking flowers my fingers were not used to touching such a soft and fragile flesh. I was still learning how to pick them properly with no demolishing. Just the way my mommy told me to. My touch was rough and sharp - I was playing with the boys every now and then - that is why I snapped the stalk in the wrong way and one stem fell on the ground. So quickly somewhat can be destroyed.

After an angry scream of my grandmother I was running away stomping the flowers not caring about the damage at all.

"NO! Not these flowers you, silly girl!" she was ready to whip the cries out of me.

I was running away, but she was getting closer and closer. I could feel the pain of the limb she carried.

I can still feel the taste of my tears even now, after eleven years.

When she got to me I was already crying and trying to explain why I picked those flowers, why I found them nothing like myself.

She did not care. My grandmother took enough whips to relieve her own grief of the lost flowers. Unfortunately, she was not interested in pain she gave me.

My cousin got away whilst I took the blame without saying a single word.

-----------------------

When my aunt came back from town, she found us both sat crying next to the hazelnut tree.


bottom of page